Advisory/Ad Hoc Committees and Workgroups

The BRN establishes and appoints advisory/ad hoc committees and workgroups as needed to complete specific tasks. The current committees and workgroups and their functions are as follows:

Advanced Practice Registered Nursing Advisory Committee

  • Mitchel Erickson, NP - Chair
  • Karyn Karp, CRNA - Vice Chair
  • Charlotte Gullap-Moore, DNP, MSN, ANP-BC
  • Danielle Blum, CNM
  • Elissa Brown, MSN, RN, PMHCNS-BC
  • Garrett Chan, PhD, NP, CNS
  • Hilary Reyes, CNM
  • Jane Perlas, NP
  • Ruth Rosenblum, NP
  • Sandra Bordi, CRNA
  • Janette Wackerly, MBA, RN, Supervising Nursing Education Consultant - Staff Liaison

Nursing Education and Workforce Advisory Committee

Advises the Board members and staff of the BRN on current and projected issues affecting the nursing workforce and education in California and reviews and provides input on the BRN biennial RN survey instrument, Annual School Survey and other research related to the RN workforce in California.

  • Tanya Altmann, PhD, RN - California State University, Sacramento
  • BJ Bartleson, RN, MS, NEA-BC - California Hospital Association/North
  • Judith G. Berg, MS, RN, FACHE – HealthImpact
  • Audrey Berman, PhD, RN - Samuel Merritt University
  • Stephanie L. Decker, Co-chair - Kaiser Permanente National Patient Care Services
  • Denise Duncan, BSN, RN/Carol Jones - UNAC/UHCP
  • Brenda Fong - Community Colleges Chancellor's Office
  • Sabrina Friedman, EdD, DNP, FNP-C, PMHCSN-BC, FAPA - UCLA School of Nursing Health Center at the Union Rescue Mission
  • Jeannine Graves, MPA, BSN, RN, OCN, CNOR – Sutter Cancer Center
  • Marketa Houskova, RN, BA, MAIA - American Nurses Association\California
  • Loucine Huckabay, PhD, RN, PNP, FAAN, Co-Chair - California State University, Long Beach
  • Kathy Hughes - SEIU
  • Saskia Kim/Victoria Bermudez - California Nurses Association/National Nurses United
  • Judy Martin-Holland, PhD, MPA, RN, FNP - University of California, San Francisco
  • Pat McFarland, MS, RN, FAAN/Susan Odegaard Turner - Association of California Nurse Leaders
  • Sandra Miller, MBA - Assessment Technologies Institute
  • Robyn Nelson, PhD - West Coast University
  • Linda Onstad-Adkins/Fiona Castleton - Health Professions Education Foundation, OSHPD
  • Stephanie R. Robinson, RN, MHA - Fresno City College
  • Joanne Spetz, Ph.D. - Phillip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies UCSF
  • Stacie Walker - Health Workforce Development Division, OSHPD
  • Peter Zografos, PhD, RN - Mt. San Jacinto College
  • Janette Wackerly, MBA, RN, Supervising Nursing Education Consultant - Board of Registered Nursing - Ex Officio Member

Nurse-Midwifery Advisory Committee

Advises the Board, through the Nursing Practice Committee, on nurse-midwifery education and practice issues and requirements per Business and Professions Code Section 2746.2 and California Code of Regulations 1461.

  • Betty Johnson (B.J.) Snell, PhD, RN, CNM, WHCNP, FACNM - Chair
  • Karen Ruby Brown, CNM, MSN
  • Karen Roslie, CPPM - Public Member
  • Linda (Lin) Lee, RN, CNM
  • Naomi E. Stotland, MD
  • Janette Wackerly, MBA, RN, Supervising Nursing Education Consultant - Staff Liaison